[134]

 

At the beginning of every month, I sit down and think: What will I write about this month? And inevitably, I fail to stick to that topic. I used to think this was a pretty serious flaw, my need to always change things, to break the rules (even rules I set for myself), but over the years, I’ve come to see this as an inherent and important part of my creativity. I want to stretch everything, to push-push-push against the boundaries.

Maybe that’s what makes me a creative creature.

Or maybe it just makes me an insolent brat.

Either way, here is this month’s theme that I probably won’t stick to: symbols, mythological figures and runes. I’ll probably start with Tarot cards (drawn at random) and go forward from there. As always, if you have a favorite tarot deck, image, symbol or what-have-you, send it to me and I’ll make a poem from it.

As a side note, it’s June. And that means I’ve gone five months where I’ve made a new creative work almost daily (I’ve missed a few here and there). Still, something that I am pretty proud of, even if the results have been mixed in terms of quality and experience.

~

Palm Reading

Image of a traditional tarot deck. 
Words written with sweet, sweet coffee.
Time Taken 5 minutes.
Brain jumbled and confused.

This entry was published on June 1, 2012 at 12:20 pm and is filed under Essay, Seattle, Self-Portraits. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

